Project Participants

Project management

Swiss Federal Institute of Aquatic Science
and Technology (Eawag)

Ueberlandstrasse 133
8600 Duebendorf
Switzerland

seewandel@seewandel.org

Project leader

PD Dr. Piet Spaak
Aquatic Ecology

+41 (0)58 765 5617
seewandel@seewandel.org

Deputy project leader

Dr. Harald Hetzenauer
Inst. for Lake Research (ISF-LUBW)

+49 (0)7543 304 0
seewandel@seewandel.org

Coordination & administration

Dr. Josephine Alexander 
Eawag, Aquatic Ecology

Expertise:
biodiversity, ecosystem functioning, multitrophic interactions, functional traits

seewandel@seewandel.org
+41 (0)58 765 6885

Arianne Maniglia
Eawag, Aquatic Ecology

seewandel@seewandel.org
+41 (0)58 765 5132

Research group/Institute leaders

PD Dr. Alexander Brinker
Fisheries Research Station Langenargen
(FFS-LAZBW)

Expertise:
fish ecology, fish parasitology,
aquaculture, biometry
Sub-projects: P1, P2, P3, L12

alexander.brinker@lazbw.bwl.de
+49 (0)7543 930 8324

Dr. Philine Feulner
Eawag, Fish Ecology & Evolution
University of Bern, Inst. of Ecology & Evolution

Expertise:
evolutionary biology, molecular evolution, ecological genomics, genome evolution
Sub-project: P4

philine.feulner@eawag.ch
+41 (0)58 765 2106

Dr. Harald Hetzenauer
Inst. for Lake Research (ISF-LUBW)

Expertise:
water quality, lakes
Sub-project: P7

harald.hetzenauer@lubw.bwl.de
+49 (0)7543 304 0

Dr. Blake Matthews
Eawag, Fish Ecology & Evolution

Expertise:
evolutionary ecology
Sub-project: L13

blake.matthews@eawag.ch
+41 (0)58 765 2120

Dr. Markus Möst
University of Innsbruck, Dept. of Ecology

Expertise:
evolutionary ecology, hybridisation, speciation
Sub-project:
P5

markus.moest@uibk.ac.at
+43 (0)512 507 51771

Prof. Dr. Jakob Pernthaler
University of Zurich, Limnological Station 

Expertise:
aquatic microbiology,
limnology of Lake Zurich
Sub-project:
 P6

pernthaler@limnol.uzh.ch
+41 (0)44 634 9219

Prof. Dr. Thomas Posch
University of Zurich, Limnological Station

Expertise:
limnology, climate change, protistology,
plankton-ecology, cyanobacteria
Sub-project: P6

posch@limnol.uzh.ch
+41 (0)44 634 9224

Prof. Dr. Karl-Otto Rothhaupt
University of Konstanz, Limnological Institute

Expertise:
limnology
Sub-projects: L9, L10

karl.rothhaupt@uni-konstanz.de
+49 (0)7531 88 3530

Prof. Dr. Klaus Schmieder
University of Hohenheim, Inst. of Landscape & Plant Ecology

Expertise:
limnology, submerged macrophytes, remote sensing, geographic information systems
Sub-project: L11

klaus.schmieder@uni-hohenheim.de
+49 (0)711 4592 3608

Prof. Dr. Ole Seehausen
Eawag, Fish Ecology & Evolution
University of Bern, Inst. of Ecology & Evolution

Expertise:
evolution ecology, ecological genetics,
speciation, population genomics,
fish, subalpine and African lakes
Sub-projects: P4, L13

ole.seehausen@eawag.ch
+41 (0)58 765 2121

PD Dr. Piet Spaak
Eawag, Aquatic Ecology

Expertise:
plankton ecology and evolution
Sub-projects: L10, L13

spaak@eawag.ch
+41 (0)58 765 5617

PD Dr. Dietmar Straile
University of Konstanz, Limnological Institute

Expertise:
food webs, population ecology, plankton, statistical analysis
Sub-projects: P3, P8, L9

dietmar.straile@uni-konstanz.de
+49 (0)7531 88 2969

PhD students

M.Sc. Stefan Borngraeber 
University of Hohenheim,
Inst. of Landscape & Plant Ecology

Expertise:
GIS, remote sensing, development of classification algorithms, statistics
Sub-project: L11

stefan.borngraeber@uni-hohenheim.de
+49 (0)711 459 23758

Dipl.-LaÖk. Gunnar Franke
University of Hohenheim,
Inst. of Landscape & Plant Ecology

Expertise:
aquatic ecology, vegetation ecology, landscape ecology, submerged macrophytes, diaspore reservoirs
Sub-project: L11

franke.gunnar@uni-hohenheim.de
+49 (0)711 459 24061

M.Sc. David Frei 
Eawag, Fish Ecology & Evolution
University of Bern, Inst. of Ecology & Evolution

Expertise:
evolutionary genomics
Sub-project: P4

david.frei@eawag.ch
+41 (0)58 765 2158

M.Sc. Sarah Gugele
Fisheries Research Station Langenargen (FFS-LAZBW)

Expertise:
fish ecology
Sub-project: P1

sarah.gugele@lazbw.bwl.de
+49 (0)7543 930 8337

M.Sc. Linda Haltiner
Eawag, Aquatic Ecology

Expertise:
zooplankton, fresh water mussels, invasive species, population genetics, resource (food) competition
Sub-project: L10

linda.haltiner@eawag.ch
+41 (0)58 765 6429

M.Sc. Tania Holtzem
University of Innsbruck, Dept. of Ecology

Expertise:
evolutionary ecology, population genetics and genomics, speciation, gene flow
Sub-project: P5

tania.holtzem@uibk.ac.at
+43 (0)526 9130 9322

M.Sc. Deborah Knapp
University of Zurich, Limnological Station

Expertise:
Planktothrix rubescens in Lake Zurich
and Lake Constance
Sub-project: P6

deborah.knapp@uzh.ch
+41 (0)44 634 9213

M.Sc. Žiga Ogorelec
University of Konstanz, Limnological Institute

Expertise:
fish zooplankton interactions
Sub-project: P3

ziga.ogorelec@uni-konstanz.de
+49 (0)1639 824 095

M.Sc. Maike Sabel
University of Konstanz, Limnological Institute

Expertise:
littoral communities in lakes, data analysis (programming language R)
Sub-project: L9

maike.sabel@uni-konstanz.de
+49 (0)7531 88 3532

Scientific staff

Dr. Stuart Dennis
Eawag, Aquatic Ecology

Expertise:
evolutionary biology, phenotypic plasticity, genomics
Sub-project: L10

stuart.dennis@eawag.ch
+41 (0)58 765 6450

Dr. J. Tyrell DeWeber
Fisheries Research Station Langenargen (FFS-LAZBW)

Expertise:
fisheries ecology and management, statistical modelling of ecological processes, decision science      
Sub-project: P2

tyrell.deweber@lazbw.bwl.de
+49 (0)7543 930 8315

Dr. Maria Cuenca
Eawag, Fish Ecology & Evolution

Expertise:
evolutionary ecology, zooplankton communities, phenotypic plasticity, genetic adaptation
Sub-project: L13

maria.cuenca@eawag.ch
+41 (0)58 765 2203

Dr. Cameron Hudson
Eawag, Fish Ecology & Evolution

Expertise:
phenotypic evolution of invasive species
Sub-project: L13

cameron.hudson@eawag.ch
+41 (0)58 765 2120

M.Sc. Moritz Lürig
Eawag, Aquatic Ecology

Expertise:
species interactions, phenotypic evolution, ecological informatics, computer vision, time series
Sub-project: L13

moritz.luerig@eawag.ch
+41 (0)58 765 2228

M.Sc. Barbara Scholz
Fisheries Research Station Langenargen (FFS-LAZBW)

Expertise:
fish ecology in lakes
Sub-project: L12

barbara.scholz@lazbw.bwl.de
+49 (0)7543 9308 331

Dr. Bernd Wahl
Inst. for Lake Research (ISF-LUBW)

Expertise:
lake physics questions
Sub-project: P7

bernd.wahl@lubw.bwl.de
+49 (0)7543 304 170

Dr. Simone Wengrat Ribeiro
University of Konstanz, Limnological Institute

Expertise:
paleolimnology
Sub-project: P8

simone.wengrat-ribeiro@uni-konstanz.de
+49 (0)177 9223 743

Dr. Thomas Wolf
Inst. for Lake Research (ISF-LUBW)

Expertise:
lake physics, numerical modelling, remote sensing
Sub-project: P7

thomas.wolf@lubw.bwl.de
+49 (0)7543 304 215

PD Dr. Elizabeth Yohannes
University of Konstanz, Limnological Institute

Expertise:
stable isotope ecology, animal movement and migration, invasive species
Sub-projects: P8, L9

elizabeth.yohannes@uni-konstanz.de
+49 (0)7531 882 916

Scientific support

B.Sc. Angelina Arquint
Eawag, Fish Ecology & Evolution
Sub-project: L13

angelina.arquint@eawag.ch

Technical support

Dipl. Ing. Eugen Loher
University of Zurich, Limnological Station

Expertise:
mass spectrometry, flow cytometry
Sub-project: P6

loher@limnol.uzh.ch
+41 (0)44 634 9241

Privacy Settings
We use cookies to enhance your experience while using our website. If you are using our Services via a browser you can restrict, block or remove cookies through your web browser settings. We also use content and scripts from third parties that may use tracking technologies. You can selectively provide your consent below to allow such third party embeds. For complete information about the cookies we use, data we collect and how we process them, please check our Privacy Policy
Youtube
Consent to display content from Youtube
Vimeo
Consent to display content from Vimeo
Google Maps
Consent to display content from Google